Skip to content

The most wonderful time of the year

March 21, 2013

That’s right ladies and gents, today is the official start of March Madness.  Saying that these two weeks are my favorite days of the year is the understatement of the century.  I start counting down to this day as soon as the Championship game ends every year.  Before I get into the nitty gritty of the tourney, the stats, and my picks and brackets, let me give a little background of my life with the sport.

I was raised watching NCAA basketball.  There are countless photos of me laying in front of the tv, watching games at the tender age of 1.  I went to every game of the Great Alaska Shootout (one of the pre-season tournaments) from age 5 to 18, when I moved to California.  I was an NCAA animal as a child and my passion for the sport grows daily.

I am a FIERCELY LOYAL Duke Blue Devils fan.  Always have been (since ’91 baby), always will be, Duke Blue Devils ’til the day I die.  It’ll be on my epitaph.

March Madness carries special emotional significance for me.  I was born during the 1991 tournament (in which my Duke Blue Devils took the title), and my dad and I have watched it together ever since I can remember.  Our shared love for the sport (and The Madness) has underscored and strengthened the bond we have.  It’s a special part of our relationship; NCAA ball played a distinctive roll in how close we came to be, in all aspects of life.  It still keeps us close now that I’m in Cali and he’s in Alaska.  We skype or talk on the phone during games whenever we get the chance.

To some, my love for NCAA basketball will seem ridiculous and obsessive (it is, in fact, quite obsessive).  I won’t ever be able to put into words the sheer excitement and joy March Madness brings me, it’s just in my bones.

And on that note, turn on your tv and watch some games.  Wichita State vs Pittsburgh is looking good, and I’ve got Davidson upsetting Marquette.  Bold I know, but that’s the beauty of it.  Anything can happen.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Robert permalink

    Awesome baby!!

Leave a Reply

